Skip Navigation

Welcome to Blue Sky Faculty Fellows

In 2013, the University of Maine launched an innovative leadership program to prepare a group of faculty from across the campus to serve as ambassadors to Maine communities and constituents. The Blue Sky Faculty Fellows Program strives to increase UMaine’s contribution to the state by creating a network of trained faculty leaders who can communicate the importance of UMaine and their research to Maine citizens and organizations.

Initiated through Pathway 3 of UMaine’s Blue Sky Plan, the program exemplifies UMaine’s dedication to providing meaningful professional development for faculty and staff, and ensuring a healthy and rewarding workplace. The Faculty Fellows Program represents an opportunity for approximately 20 faculty members from different disciplines to develop enhanced perspectives on diverse constituencies in the state of Maine and how to engage with them. Coordinated by the Divisions of Academic Affairs, Innovation and Economic Development, and Human Resources, this leadership program is designed to cultivate core leadership, communication, and boundary-spanning skills in a small group of emerging faculty leaders at UMaine.

Central to the program’s mission is reaffirming UMaine’s leadership role as Maine’s Flagship University, and that reaffirmation requires the participation and continuing contribution of all UMaine leaders on campus. In the true spirit of our state’s motto — dirigo — the University of Maine must embody its leadership role by guiding Maine to a better and brighter future. Fulfilling this vision will require multiple kinds of leaders within the institution. The Blue Sky Faculty Fellows Program was developed to further this goal, and to build a network of faculty leaders who can communicate the University of Maine’s mission and role as a key research, education, and cultural institution in our state and nation.

The program is coordinated by Laura Lindenfeld, Associate Professor of Communication and Journalism; Jeff St. John, Associate Provost; Jake Ward, Vice President for Innovation and Economic Development; and Judy Ryan, Associate Vice President for Human Resources and Administration and is funded by the Office of the President.